CPA's Special Recognition Award for 1995

CPA banner Patrons/Presidents d'honneur
Their Excellencies the Right Honourable Romeo LeBlanc, Governor General of Canada, and Mrs, Diana Fowler LeBlanc
Leurs Excellences le tres honorable Romeo LeBlanc, Gouverneur general du Canada, et Madame Diana Fowler LeBlanc

October 15, 1995

Dr. Philip W. Long
Vancouver, B.C.

Dear Dr. Long:

On behalf of the members of the Canadian Psychiatric Association, and the Mental Illness Awareness Week 1995 Coalition organizations: the Schizophrenia Society of Canada; the Depression and Manic Depression Association of Canada, the National Network for Mental Health and the Canadian Mental Health Association, I would like to present to you the CPA's Special Recognition Award for 1995.

The award is in expression of our appreciation for your outstanding leadership and dedicated contribution to the promotion of mental illness awareness, health services, research and education in 1995, in the past, and no doubt well into the future.

The award is presented annually as part of the Canadian Psychiatric Association's Mental Illness Awareness Week. Previous award winners include Nobel laureate Dr. Michael Smith, The Right Honourable Ramon John Hnatyshyn and Mrs. Gerda Hnatyshyn, and Mr. Bill Jefferies, founder of the Ontario Friends of Schizophrenics.

Your nomination was proposed to the Mental Illness Awareness Week 1995 Steering Committee by the Mood Disorders Association of British Columbia, and was wholeheartedly supported by the British Columbia Schizophrenia Society and the Canadian Mental Health Association's B.C. Division.

We hope you will display the award proudly. Thank you Dr. Long, keep up the good work, and good luck.

Sincerely yours,

Donald Wiedman
CPA Director of Communications & Publications

Canadian Psychiatric Association/Association des psychiatres du Canada 200-237 Argyle, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 1B8 Tel: 613-234-2815 Fax: 613-234-9857

Internet Mental Health ( copyright 1995-2011 by Phillip W. Long, M.D.